The School Governing Body

The Governing Body is responsible for the decision making that affects the school. There are currently eleven governors and one associate governor, including Mr Marsh. The full Governing Body meets twice a term and the committees each meet once a term. There are four committees which deal with certain aspects of the school.

The Head and Chair of Governors are members of all committees. Each committee has a Chair who is marked below in bold.

The Chair of Governors is Mr Steve Withers who can be contacted via the school.

Buildings and Grounds

Committee members : Ann Byers, Bruce Richards, Kirstie Somerville, Paul Walker, Steve Withers

Curriculum and Pastoral

Committee Members: Nicola Atkinson, Alison Bedford, Steve Carter, Brendan McArdle, Betty Tonge


Committee Members: Ann Byers, Bruce Richards, Kirstie Somerville, Avril Williams


Committee Members: Alison Bedford, Shiona Bickley, Steve Carter, Brendan McArdle, Betty Tonge, Paul Walker, Avril Williams. 

For more detailed information about the structure and remit of the Governing Body and the terms of reference for each committee, please click here.

Business Interests

At the start of every academic year the governors are asked to declare any business interests or financial interests. In September 2016 no interests were declared. In addition, at the start of every meeting, Governors are asked to declare any interests in agenda items for that particular meeting. If any are declared, these are minuted.

Attendance at Meetings

The table below shows the attendance at meetings from September 2015 to date.

Attendance details will be added as each set of minutes is approved. This may mean a delay as minutes are approved the term after they are written.


Ref Meeting Date Apologies Accepted Notes
31 Full Governors 22/09/2015

Betty Tonge

Steve Carter

Avril Williams

Yes (all)  
B16 Buildings & Grounds 13/10/2015 None    
S16 Staffing 20/10/2015

Steve Carter

Paul Walker

Yes (both)  
C16 Curriculum & Pastoral 3/11/2015 None    
F16 Finance 2/12/2015 Avril WIlliams Yes  
32 Full Governors 14/12/2015

Bruce Richards

Steve Carter

Yes (both)  
33 Full Governors 19/01/2016 Nicola Atkinson Yes  
S17 Staffing 26/01/2016 Avril Williams Yes  
C17 Curriculum & Pastoral 9/02/2016

*Brendan McArdle

Nicola Atkinson

Yes (both) *Associate Member
B17 Buildings & Grounds 23/02/2016 Steve Withers Yes  
F17 Finance 15/03/2016 Ann Byers Yes  
34 Full Governors 22/03/2016 Mr Walker, Miss Byers, Miss Atkinson Yes (all)  
F18 Finance 19/04/2016 None    
35 Full Governors 17/05/2016 Rev Carter, Mr Richards, Mrs Williams Yes (all)  
B18 Buildings & Grounds 24/05/2016 Mr Richards Yes  
S18 Staffing 07/06/2016 Rev Carter, Mr Walker Yes (both)  
C18 Curriculum & Pastoral 28/06/2016

Mrs Bedford, Mr McArdle

Yes (both)  
36 Full Governors 05/07/2016 Mrs Williams, Mr Richards Yes (both)  
37 Full Governors 04/10/2016 Rev Carter Yes  
S19 Staffing 11/10/2016 None    
F19 Finance 18/10/2016 None    
C19 Curriculum & Pastoral 01/11/2016 None    
B19 Buildings & Grounds 08/11/2016 Mr Richards Yes  
38 Full Governors 06/12/2016 Mr B McArdle Yes  
39 Full Governors 10/01/2017 Miss Atkinson Yes  
S20 Staffing 24/01/2017 None    
C20 Curriculum & Pastoral 7/02/2017 Miss Atkinson Yes  
B20 Buildings & Grounds 28/02/2017 Miss Byers Yes  
F20 Finance 14/3/2017 None Yes  
40 Full Governors 4/04/2017

Rev, Carter, Mr Scales, Mr Withers

Yes (all)  
F21 Finance 2/05/2017 None    
41 Full Governors 16/05/2017

Mrs Bedford, Mr McArdle and Mr Richards (all work commitments) Mr Withers - holiday

Yes (all)  
S21 Staffing 6/06/2017 Mrs Bedford  (work commitments) Yes  
42 Full Governors 4/07/2017

Paul Walker

Rev Carter






















































































There are two meetings of the Full Governing Body per term.

The most recent approved minutes of the Full Governing Body can be found here.


The Governing Body is responsible for keeping the school's policies up to date. There are a great number of these concerning teaching and learning, safeguarding and staffing as well as the physical aspects of the school and its finances. Those most pertinent to parents have been identified and can be found by clicking here. If you have any concerns that are not covered by these policies, please get in touch with Mr Marsh.

Governing Body Structure:

Head teacher:

Mr C Marsh

Local Authority Governor, appointed by the Local Authority:

Mr B McArdle

appointed by the Governing Body 22 March 2016, term ends 21 March 2020

*Mr McArdle was an Associate Member between September 2015 and 21 March 2016.

Foundation Governors, appointed by the Diocese of Carlisle:

Miss A Byers

appointed by the Diocese 10 November 2015, term ends 9 November 2019

Rev S Carter (ex officio)

Mrs B Tonge

appointed by the Diocese 27 November 2013, term ends 26 November 2017

Mrs Tonge resigned 20 October 2016

Co-opted Governors, appointed by the school's Governing Body:

Mrs Shiona Bickley

appointed by the Governing Body 4 April 2017, term ends 3 April 2021

Mrs K Somerville

appointed by the Governing Body 1 September 2015, term ends 31 August 2019

Mr S Withers

appointed by the Governing Body 1 September 2015, term ends 31 August 2019

Mrs A Williams

appointed by the Governing Body 1 September 2015, term ends 31 August 2019

Mrs Williams resigned 20 September 2016

Parent Governors, elected through a ballot of parents:

Mrs A Bedford

appointed by the Governing Body 7December 2013, term ends 6 December 2017

Mr B Richards

appointed by the Governing Body 7 December 2013, term ends 6 December 2017

Mr P Walker

appointed by the Governing Body 7 December 2013, term ends 6 December 2017

Staffing Governor, elected by school staff:

Miss N Atkinson

elected by the school staff and appointed by Governing Body 7 December 2013, term ends 6 December 2017

Associate Members, appointed by the school's Governing Body:

Mr I Newton

Mr Newton attends Buildings and Grounds meetings. He is the site manager of the school.

Clerk to the Governors:

Mrs C McDonald (who attends the Finance Committee meetings)



School Council

Above: Last term's school councillors (new ones still to be elected!)

At St Michael’s we have a School Council. Each class votes for two representatives to join the council each term. It is the job of the councillors to work together on projects, represent the ideas and opinions of their class and feedback to the classmates about what has been discussed in council meetings. We meet at least once every half term.

The School Council has previously organised events such as a non-uniform day and cake sale to support Comic Relief, a sponsored “walking marathon” to support fire-fighters, non-uniform day for Children in Need. In March 2016 the School Council won a major young enterprise competition called “Bright Stars”. You can find further information about this here. The money raised through the project enabled us to make a donation to our chosen charity, Eden Valley Hospice, and also enabled us to buy some playground equipment. The Tuck Shop, which was set up as part of this project, is still running and is a very popular part of life at St Michael’s.

We are currently in the process of electing this year's Council and will update this page shortly.


Latest News

17 November 2017

Thank you, thank you!

As ever, your response has been great...
2 November 2017

Lockerbie Manor

Year 6 had a great time on their residential...
1 November 2017

Carlisle Castle

Year 6 went back to the time of the First World War...